Abbreviation Guide

The following abbreviations and acronyms appear in TA from time to time-

ABC – Australian Bus and Coach

ACTION – Australian Capital Territory Internal Omnibus Network

AETA – Australian Electric Traction Association

APT – Action for Public Transport

ARA – Australasian Rail Association

ARC – Auckland Regional Council

ARTA – Auckland Regional Transport Authority

ARTC – Australian Rail Track Corporation

ATA – Auckland Transport Agency

ATP – Automatic Train Protection

ATSB – Australian Transport Safety Bureau

BITRE – Bureau of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Economics

BCC – Brisbane City Council

BCI – Bus and Coach International

BRT - Bus Rapid Transit

BT – Brisbane Transport

CBD – Central Business District

CCS – Council of the City of Sydney

CCTV – Closed Circuit TV

CDC - ComfortDelGro Cabcharge Pty Ltd

CNG – Compressed Natural Gas

DDA – Disability Discrimination Act

DOT – Department of Transport Victoria

ECRL – Epping to Chatswood Rail Link

EMU – Electric Multiple Unit

EOI – Expressions of Interest

GWRC – Greater Wellington Regional Council

HCMC – Ho Chi Minh City Vietnam

IPART – Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal NSW

ITSRR - The Independent Transport Safety and Reliability Regulator (NSW)

KTMB - Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad – Malaysia’s national rail system

LPG – Liquefied Petroleum Gas

LRT – Light Rail Transit

MRT – Singapore Mass Rapid Transit (Metro)

MTM – Metro Trains Melbourne

MTR – Hong Kong Mass Transit Railway

NZD – New Zealand Dollars

NZTA – The NZ Transport Agency

OSC(ar) – NSW Outer Suburban Class of cars

PID - Passenger Information Display

PPP – Public Private Partnership

PTA – Public Transport Authority (WA)

QR – Queensland Rail

RFI – Request for Information

RFID – Radio Frequency Identification

RIC – Rail Infrastructure Corporation NSW

RTBU – The Rail, Tram and Bus Union

SEQIPP - South East Queensland Infrastructure Plan and Program

SMRT – Singapore Mass Rapid Transit Corporation

STA – State Transit Authority NSW

SWRL – South West Rail Link Sydney

TCA – Transport Construction Authority NSW

Transport NSW – The NSW Ministry of Transport

TTA – Transport Ticketing Authority of Victoria

TOD – Transit Oriented Development

TVM – Ticket Vending Machine

UITP - Union Internationale des Transports Publics

ULDA- Queensland Urban Land Development Authority

V/Line – V/Line Corporation